

For Immediate Release November 11, 2010

University of Alaska Foundation Elects New Trustees and Officers

Three Alaskans were elected to the University of Alaska Foundation's Board of Trustees at the organization's annual meeting, held in Anchorage on Nov. 8, 2010. Two of the three trustees, who are elected to three-year terms, are new to the board, while one was elected to a second term.

Lorali Carter

Elected for their first three-year terms are Lorali Carter of Palmer, external affairs manager for Wishbone Hill, Usibelli Coal Mine; and Karen Polley of Juneau, retired director of the University of Alaska Southeast Ketchikan campus.

Mike Felix

Mike Felix was first elected to the board in 2006. In addition to being elected to his second three-year term as trustee he was also elected chair of the Foundation board. Officers serve two-year terms and Felix will serve as chair from 2010-2012. Felix is president of AT&T Alaska, headquartered in Anchorage.

Carla Beam

Carla Beam will serve as vice-chair from 2010-2012. Beam is an active Anchorage community member.

Jo Michalski

Jo Michalski will serve as secretary of the board from 2010-2012. Michalski is president and owner of Portfolio and Classic Woman in Anchorage.

The University of Alaska Foundation seeks, secures and stewards philanthropic support to build excellence at the University of all campuses within the University of Alaska System and is governed by a 30-member volunteer Board of Trustees. The Foundation manages over 1,100 privately donated funds, including 644 endowments. It has over \$286 million assets under management.

Visit our <u>Board of Trustees page</u> to find out more about all the members.